This is the "Procurement [HPW]" page of the "HPW procurement" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HPW procurement  

This guide provides resources from a wide range of procurement fields including research, journals, books, news and more.
Last Updated: May 8, 2015 URL: http://premiers.qld.gov.au.campusguides.com/DPW_procurement Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Procurement [HPW] Print Page
  Search: 
 

News

  • Queensland government backs technology procurement vision  Icon
    August 30, 2013. 'The Queensland Government has released its technology procurement vision for the next four years, moving away from the longstanding build-own-operate model in favour of buying technology as a service.'
  • Councils make strides in buying online  Icon  Icon
    July 2, 2013. "The use of technology and improved processes in buying goods and services for local government has significantly advanced in recent years, says Brian O'Mara, general manager of Local Government Procurement."
 

Conferences and events

 

RSS - government purchasing

 

  

 

EbscoHost alerts is updated daily and provides access to 'government purchasing' full text articles from EbscoHost's Business Source Premier and Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre. Contact HPW Library for research or if you need a new search run.

Please Note: EbscoHost Alerts may only be available for Housing and Public Works' Library clients. Please contact HPW Library (#45219) if you have any queries.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Journals

CPO agenda [electronic resource] : the business review for procurement leaders
Designed specifically for chief procurement officers and senior purchasing and supply chain executives in larger organisations.

Government procurement [electronic resource]
'Targets the public sector purchasing professional.'

Government product news [electronic resource]
'Feature articles, commentary, legislation, news and product reviews.'

International journal of procurement management [electronic resource]
IJPM proposes and fosters discussions on the development of procurement resources.

Procurement professional [electronic resource]
Procurement professional focuses on trends in procurement and includes new research, case studies, commissioned articles and news from throughout the sector.

Contractor magazine
'Articles, profiles, commentary, new products and industry news aimed at mechanical contractors, consulting engineers, inspectors and manufacturers dealing with plumbing, heating and air conditioning, ventilation, refrigeration and piping.'

Tenders net [electronic resource]
Search for tenders and advertise as buyer/ seller of goods and services. eg. Government department.

International journal of physical distribution
Aims to the be the principal home the world comes to for leading edge research bridging strategic areas of business-to-business management, physical distribution, business logistics, marketing channels, and supply chain management.

 

Construction - books from HPW Library

Cover Art
Building services procurement - Marsh, Christopher
Call Number: 690.0687 MAR 2003
ISBN: 041527477X
Publication Date: 2003
'Procurers and constructors increasingly need practical guidance for the strategic procurement of building services. Clients seeking to improve the delivery performance of the construction industry are increasingly using alternative procurement arrangements. Beyond the usual considerations of time, cost and quality, buildings services have a series of unique requirements not normally considered. For the first time, these unique requirements are combined in a single text, providing the reader with the definitive guide to building services procurement.'

Construction procurement. Part 1 [electronic resource] : processes, methods and procedures - International Organization for Standardization.
Publication Date: 2010
ISO 10845-1:2010 describes processes, methods and procedures for the establishment within an organization of a procurement system that is fair, equitable, transparent, competitive and cost-effective.
This standard is part of the HPW Library's subscription to SAI Global (Standards Australia).

Construction procurement. Part 2 [electronic resource] : formatting, and compilation of procurement documentation - International Organization for Standardization.
Publication Date: 2011
ISO 10845-2:2011 establishes, in respect of supply, services and engineering and construction works contracts, at both main and subcontract level, a format for the compilation of calls for expressions of interest, tender and contract documents, and the general principles for compiling procurement documents.
This standard is part of the HPW Library's subscription to SAI Global (Standards Australia).

Cover Art
Management of construction : a project lifecycle approach - Bennett, F Lawrence
Call Number: 624.068 BEN 2003
ISBN: 0750652543
Publication Date: 2003
The book addresses each stage of the construction project from conception to completion, giving a perspective on the whole life cycle - an angle that is often missing from textbooks. The author also balances engineering concerns with the human resource and personal aspects of construction management that are so important to the successful outcome of a project. It also covers key up-to-date topics such as environmental impact and alternative methods of procurement.

National construction code series : BCA 2012 - Australian Building Codes Board
Call Number: 343.07869 AUS 2012
ISBN: 1921453786(v.1);1921453809(v.2);1921453819(v.3);1921453793(v.1appendices)
Publication Date: 2011
'The Building Code of Australia (BCA) is a uniform set of technical provisions for the design and construction of buildings and other structures throughout Australia while allowing for variations in climate and geological and geographical conditions.'

Cover Art
Procurement strategies : a relationship-based approach - Walker, Derek (ed.) ; Hampson, Keith (ed.)
Call Number: 658.404 WAL 2003
ISBN: 0632058862
Publication Date: 2003
This book addresses the critical relationship issues for a more collaborative and sustainable construction industry. It provides readers with guidance and models on how to put a relationship-based approach to procurement into practice, drawing on specific prototypes from an actual, successful project that can be adapted.

Cover Art
Strategic procurement in construction : towards better practice in the management of construction supply chains. - Cox, Andrew ; Townsend, Mike
Call Number: 692.8 COX 1998
ISBN: 9780727725998
Publication Date: 1998
'Most participants in the construction process realise that performance must be improved dramatically if the industry is to survive and prosper. The fundamental question is How?'

Cover Art
Sustainable construction : green building design and delivery - Kibert, Charles
Call Number: 720.47 KIB 2005
ISBN: 0471661139
Publication Date: 2005
Focusing on green building as it applies to larger commercial, institutional buildings, this text provides an introduction to the design and construction of high-performance green buildings. Using the U.S. Green Building Council's LEED suite of standards to explain the best practices in building procurement and delivery systems. Providing a detailed overview of the entire process of green building, it also covers best practices in green building.

 

Sustainable procurement - books from HPW Library

Australian and New Zealand government framework for sustainable procurement [electronic resource] - Australian Procurement and Construction Council
ISBN: 97819207510908
Publication Date: 2007
'Good procurement practice serves efficient and cost-effective government. But it is clear that government procurement also has great potential to contribute to broader economic, environmental and social objectives. The joint Framework for Sustainable Procurement will help ensure that Australia and New Zealand can work together effectively to meet these future challenges head on. It will do this by providing consistency across government and by guiding the implementation of cost-effective initiatives that relate to sustainable procurement.'

Government procurement and environmental sustainability [electronic resource] : an overview - Victoria. Commissioner for Environmental Sustainability
ISBN: 1921147024
Publication Date: 2006
'This overview provides the context for the three areas of detailed advice on procurement requested by the Minister. The relationship between environmental sustainability and procurement is described, with particular reference to the role of government procurement.'

Green office procurement and sustainable office management [electronic resource] - Australian National Audit Office
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2009
The objective of this audit was to assess and report on the progress being made by Government agencies in achieving better practice in green office procurement and sustainable office management. The scope of the audit included agencies incorporated under the Financial Management and Accountability Act 1997 as well as a sample of bodies incorporated under the Commonwealth Authorities and Companies Act 1997. Sixty-three agencies were included in an audit survey. Detailed validation was carried out in nine of these agencies.

Green paper guide - Finsbury Green (Firm)
Call Number: 676.2099405 GRE 2011
Publication Date: 2011
The Green Paper Guide is designed to help us understand 'green' paper. Paper listed in this guide has a specific eco-advantage.

Cover Art
Marketing green buildings : guide for engineering, construction and architecture - Jerry Yudelson
Call Number: 690.0688 YUD 2006
ISBN: 9780881735291
Publication Date: 2006-02-01
'Engineers, architects and contractors seeking to expand their involvement in the green buildings market need a firm grounding in the marketing strategies and tactics which are being used most successfully in this specialized and growing field. This book is intended to serve as an effective tool for professional green building enthusiasts and advocates in presenting green design features, sustainable strategies and new products to the potential green building client.'

Principles and framework for procuring sustainably : guide - British Standards Institution
Call Number: 658.72 SUS 2010
ISBN: 9780580676949
Publication Date: 2010
'This British Standard is intended to help organizations and individuals consider and implement sustainable practices within their procurement processes, and ongoing management of their respective supply chains. Sustainable procurement means only purchasing goods that are really needed, and buying items or services whose production, use and disposal both minimize negative impacts and encourage positive outcomes for the environment, economy and society.'

 

ICT procurement - books from HPW library

Procurement and disposal of ICT products and services (IS13) [electronic resource] - Queensland Government Chief Information Office
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2012
'This Information Standard sets out a number of principles applicable to the acquisition, management, maintenance and disposal of ICT products and services.'

The next wave of technologies - Phil Simon ; Jill Dyché (Foreword by)
Call Number: 004.068 SIM 2010
ISBN: 9780470587508
Publication Date: 2010
This book provides a toolbox of the latest and most effective solutions for an organisation to put its next set of competitive and strategic practices in motion. Includes chapters on technology procurement.

 

General procurement - books from HPW Library

A short guide to procurement risk - Richard Russill
Call Number: 658.72 RUS 2010
ISBN: 9780566092183
Publication Date: 2010
Increasingly, top executives view supply markets as sources of competitive advantage and as means of achieving strategic objectives. Procurement is the management activity that makes this happen, and this process depends on superior risk management capability to be totally effective. And yet, despite its importance, PRM is surprisingly under-developed. The 'Global Risks 2008' survey report has pinpointed Supply Chain Vulnerability as one of the four key global risks for the next decade. But what is less well known is that this is only half of the story ... risk exposures also exist inside the company and can be just as damaging. Recent events prove that the unexpected and the inconceivable do happen. High class companies, be they public or private sector, may run their own affairs in an insightful, prudent and responsible way to the extent that they feel more able than others to survive such tumult. But no company is an island. It needs suppliers as well as customers. Conventional wisdom puts great emphasis on managing certain aspects of business such as customers; operations; strategy and finances. Typically, however, much less regard is paid to external suppliers and the risks present in dealing with them. As a minimum suppliers are the sources of materials, services and expert attention which enable the company to feed its business model. When done well though, a high-performance risk-aware procurement process provides the bonus of competitive advantage, with the ability to capitalise, rather than suffer, from the occurrence of unexpected events. This short guide explains how to do it.

Procurement strategy and contract selection [electronic resource] - Queensland. Dept. of Public Works. Building Policy Unit.
ISBN: 9780980468182
Publication Date: 2008
'The guideline applies primarily to the project delivery phase of the capital works management process, which incorporates the project definition, procurement strategy, consultant/contractor selection, design and construction, and handover states.'

Supplier evaluation and performance excellence : a guide to meaningful metrics and successful results - Gordon, Sherry R
Call Number: 658.72 GOR 2008
ISBN: 9781932159806
Publication Date: 2008
Understanding supplier performance is vital to ensuring a well-functioning supply network. This comprehensive volume enables readers to develop and implement an evaluation process to reduce costs, lower risk, and improve both company and supplier performance. Supplier Evaluation includes examples of best practices that real companies are using to evaluate suppliers and illustrates how to get beyond merely collecting data to achieving real results. It shows how to get to the meaning behind metrics, and choose measurements that are both meaningful both in the context of your company's goals and also for the supplier.

The 7 habits of highly effective CPOs : a new study of practitioners identifies a set of behaviours that distinguishes the best - Chartered Institute of Purchasing & Supply (Australasia)
Call Number: 658.4092 DUT 2010
Publication Date: 2010
'This booklet offers a realistic and compelling insight to how CPOs (chief procurement officers) can be corporately successful in the current economic context, even including a scorecard for progress measurement.'

The buyer's blog : a procurement field guide : PP online procurement - Chartered Institute of Purchasing & Supply Australia
Call Number: 658.72 DUT 2010
ISBN: 9780646547602
Publication Date: 2010
'The Buyer's Blog is an occasional viewpoint on matters relevant to procurement professionals from our anonymous former senior procurement management with a "naturally biased, but totally justified, opinion". Generally the blog aims to offer relevant and practical down-to-earth opinions that help busy procurement professionals to simply do a better job and see through the fog of complexity with which they are often presented. The Buyer has offered an extraordinary amount of pragmatic and workable advice masquerading as flippant comment on current affairs relevant to the profession. Some of the blogs (and the provided links) still count as the "most viewed" pages on PPonline. You can comment on the blogs individually by posting comments. This compendium of 115 blogs from throughout the last year also offers a retrospective of the year in procurement. It chronicles the year in procurement terms - the news, issues, questions and recurrent themes close to the profession.'

Commonwealth procurement rules : achieving value for money - Australia. Department of Finance and Deregulation
ISBN: 9781922096005
Publication Date: 2012
Effective from 1 July 2012, the Commonwealth Procurement Rules (CPR) represent the Government’s policy framework under which agencies govern and undertake their own procurement.

Government Departments and Agencies - Australia

  • APCC (Australasian Procurement and Construction Council Inc.)  Icon
    'As a leader in government procurement the APCC drives procurement solutions which deliver efficiency gains, savings and added value for government, industry and the community.'
  • Australian Association of Procurement and Contract Management
    The Australian Association of Procurement and Contract Management is an Australian organisation established to provide support and recognition for Australian procurement professionals working in Government, Local Government and private enterprise. At AAPCM, we are all about actively promoting the professionalisation of Procurement and Contract Management in Australia.
  • Australian Green Procurement
    This is a nationwide network that promotes the purchase of environmentally preferable goods and services. Many governments, companies and everyday Australians are now reviewing their everyday procurement activities with a view of minimising their overall environmental impact. This website has been designed for procurement officers and technical professionals involved in the field of green procurement.
  • CIPS (Chartered Institute of Purchasing & Supply)
    'CIPS Australasia provides a range of services for the benefit of members and the wider business community including: job support, professional development, knowledge banks, local networking events & conferences and tailored training courses.'
  • ECO-Buy
    ECO-Buy is an award winning not for profit Centre of Excellence in Environmental Purchasing, established to encourage the purchasing of environmentally preferable products and services.
  • Australian Government Information Management Office (AGIMO)
    'The Australian Government Information Management Office (AGIMO), Department of Finance and Deregulation is working to make Australia a leader in the productive application of information and communication technologies (ICT) to government administration information and services.'
  • Procurement - Australian Department of Finance and Deregulation  Icon  Icon
    A portal for information on Commonwealth Procurement. Includes information for Government agencies and industry, latest news, and AusTender (the Australian Government’s procurement information system.)

Government Departments and Agencies - Australian States

  • Local Government Procurement
    Local Government Procurement (LGP) has been established to provide a fully integrated procurement service to councils and associated organisations in NSW. From October 2008 LGP also has the ability to assist Not for Profit Groups across Australia with their procurement needs. LGP was established by the Local Government and Shires Associations of New South Wales on behalf of its members to create a procurement operation dedicated to meeting the specific needs of Local Government.
  • NSW Government Procurement
    Provides government procurement frameworks to enusre best value for money in supporting the delivery of government services whilst being fiar, ethical and transparent.
  • Procurement Australia
    Procurement Australia was established in 1985 to aggregate the buying power of local government entities in Victoria and has steadily grown into one of Australia's most innovative and successful procurement companies; a leader in the business of negotiating and facilitating contracts for local government, public sector organisations, not-for-profit groups and other commercial entities.
  • Queensland Government eTendering website
    'Here you will find the most recent information about Queensland Government tendering opportunities. This Website lists opportunities that are upcoming, current or closed - please see 'View Tenders' section on the left menu or select an Agency from the list. This website also offers a free tender opportunity email notification service.'
  • Queensland Government Market Place
    The Government Information Technology Contracting Framework Version 5 (GITC V5) contains standard contractual terms and conditions for use in the acquisition of Information Communication & Technology (ICT) products and services. By signing the GITC Agreement, suppliers pre-agree to utilise these standard terms and conditions in their commercial dealings with Queensland Government Agencies. All Queensland Government Agencies which fall under the Queensland State Purchasing.
  • State Procurement Board [South Australia]
    'The Board’s mission is to build an effective and efficient system of public procurement.'
  • Victorian Government Procurement
    'The Victorian Government Purchasing Board (VGPB) policies set the minimum standards for procurement of non-construction goods and services in Victorian Government departments and some agencies. The policy framework achieves value for money in Victorian Government procurement, while maintaining the highest standards of probity, minimising risk and maximising opportunities for local businesses.'
  • Buying in Education [Western Australia]
    This website provides general information about buying in the Department of Education.

Government Departments and Agencies - International

  • (IFPSM) International Federation of Purchasing & Supply Management
    IFPSM facilitates the development and distribution of knowledge to elevate and advance the procurement profession, thus favorably impacting the standard of living of citizens worldwide through improved business practices.
  • China Procurement
    China Procurement was established to help small to medium sized Australian businesses gain competitive advantage through being able to purchase directly from manufacturers based in China.
  • Global Supply Chain Council
    The Global Supply Chain Council is today the largest professional organization dedicated to furthering the knowledge, understanding, and career development of executives, managers, and professionals in the field of supply chain, logistics and procurement management in Asia.
  • Balanced Scorecard Institute
    'The Balanced Scorecard Institute, a Strategy Management Group company, helps organizations succeed through improved strategic focus and performance through training, certification and a full range of consulting services.'
  • National Procurement Service [Ireland]
    'The home of the National Procurement Service. Our aim is to achieve greater efficiencies and value for money in the procurement of all goods and services for the Irish public service. As a buyer or a supplier, the many useful features on this site will assist you in all your procurement activities with the public service.
  • Public Sector Procurement in Scotland
    'Public sector spending on goods and services across Scotland, in areas such as health and education services, amounts to over £9 billion per year. Procurement guidelines govern the purchasing of these goods and services. The Public Procurement Reform Programme (PPRP), aims to drive up procurement standards ensuring value for money for the taxpayer.'
  • eTenders Public Procurement [Ireland]
    'eTenders has been developed by the Department of Finance and is designed to help you find and publish tender notices on government and public sector procurement across Ireland.'
  • UK Procurement
    'UK Procurement is a UK tender contract search and advice service. It provides you with the capability to search for government and local government tenders online and to tender effectively for contracts.'
  • Central Procurement Directorate Northern Ireland
    'As the NI lead Procurement Body, the Central Procurement Directorate (CPD) reviews and develops NI procurement policy and provides the NI Public Sector with best value for money procurement services.'

Universities / Research

  • Australian Universities Procurement Network
    The structure of the AUPN in 2012 includes Standing Committees and Working Groups to focus on adding value to the sector in sustainability in procurement, advancing the development of procurement and the people driving it and working with the strength of the universities for the common benefit of all through collaborative agreements.
  • International Research Study of Public Procurement (IRSPP)
    IRSPP is a multi-national research study of Public Procurement practices and policies which develops international comparative procurement benchmarks and enhances the body of knowledge in government procurement.
  • Open Universities Australia
    Online higher education helps students' need for flexible learning schedules that fit into their lives. Their goal is to provide an education that fits your lifestyle. Courses offered include: procurement & contract management; logistics and supply chain management, and manage project procurement.
  • Procurement reseach
    Peer reviewed research accessed from the EbscoHost database. Research has been published over the last five years.

Databases

The following databases are IP authenticated, you may be prompted for your departmental library username & password.

  • Department of Housing and Public Works
  • Queensland Treasury
  • Department of Local Government & Planning
  • Department of Premier and Cabinet
  • Australian Standards
    Access to the full text of more than 6000 Australian (AS), ISO and IEC standards.
  • EBSCOHost
    EBSCOHost - Use this link to simultaneously search multiple EBSCOHost databases. These include: Business Source Premier, Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre, and GreenFILE
  • Emerald Fulltext
    Database of mainly business, information technology and engineering journals with a European perspective. Full text articles available for most titles from mid 1990's.
  • Informit Business Collection
    Business Collection covers all broad business fields, including: accounting, career development, commercial law, commodities, corporate governance, e-business, economics, employment, human resources, labour, management, marketing, occupational health, taxation, and unions.
 

Google books



Google scholar



Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip